Continue to Site

Welcome to 3DCADForums

Join our CAD community forums where over 25,000 users interact to solve day to day problems and share ideas. We encourage you to visit, invite you to participate and look forward to your input and opinions. Acrobat 3D, AutoCAD, Catia, Inventor, IronCAD, Creo, Pro/ENGINEER, Solid Edge, SolidWorks, and others.

3d scan HELP

exactly

I hope someone will help.
I scanned an object using 3d scanner Revscan, and after that I tried to edit the model in Geomagic. I don't have any expirience in this, but I'm an average SolidWorks user. My intention is to import scanned data in SolidWorks and create drawings for production.

When I tried to open .stl file, SolidWorks will only import it as graphic model (becouse of polygone limit) and I can't do anything with it. So, I played a little in Geomagic (I am total novice) and managed to make surfaces, then exported it as STEP and imported in SolidWorks. Now I dont know what to do with it, It has many curves and looks bad.

Do I have to draw a model myself using a scaned model only as reference or what? Please help, I intend to give a drawings to production people in our company, so they can produce a copy. The model is an air compressor holder, metal casted.

Please explain your way of editing 3d scaned data and preparation process for production.

Many thanks from Serbia.

SolidWorks mesh translation

SolidWorks can open .STL data up to 30,000 polygons as a Surface body, on which you can draw points/lines/planes etc.

You can reduce the polygon count using MeshLab (free) and the 'Clustering Edge Collapse Decimate' filter. If you do this, you can then open the reduced .STL as a CAD surface in SolidWorks, and use it as a reference to rebuild in 3D.

Alternatively, you can convert using the 3DScanTools in solidWorks, which will attempts to create new NURBS surface patches. It's never perfect, but can give you a visual model on which you can build new parametric solids.

-Dan