Continue to Site

Welcome to 3DCADForums

Join our CAD community forums where over 25,000 users interact to solve day to day problems and share ideas. We encourage you to visit, invite you to participate and look forward to your input and opinions. Acrobat 3D, AutoCAD, Catia, Inventor, IronCAD, Creo, Pro/ENGINEER, Solid Edge, SolidWorks, and others.

Newbie: Surface Blend Question?

S

sbird

Dear All
I am a tech/tutor at an English design college, learning and teaching Solidworks (basic level)

If any could help with a technical question regarding Surface modelling I would like to ask:

when teaching Rhino3D (to create a teapot for instance)
a 'intersection' curve is created between eg. spout and main body
then turned into a pipe shape to cut into both surfaces
These cut surfaces are then joined by using 'blend surface' rather than fillet.
This an extremely useful and much used technique in our department.

I am trying to fnd a similar technique in SolidWorks but have had no luck.
I would be grateful for any advice you may have in this area.

Many Thanks

Simon Bird

Technician/Tutor
Royal College of Art
London
UK

Simon,
I'm relatively new also and have ran into the same issues. From what I have experienced the only way to do this is by trimming the surfaces, thickening them to form a solid and then using a fillet for the blend (assuming you're using SW '05 or '06.)
I believe now in SW '07, SW has added that blend feature along with a few other more advanced surfacing techniques.
As stated, I'm new so there very well may be a way to do it but I have not figured it out either.
Good Luck!!

I typically never solidify my model until I'm done with the shape. Organic shapes are simplier using surfaces, ribs and bosses are more easily done in solids.