Continue to Site

Welcome to 3DCADForums

Join our CAD community forums where over 25,000 users interact to solve day to day problems and share ideas. We encourage you to visit, invite you to participate and look forward to your input and opinions. Acrobat 3D, AutoCAD, Catia, Inventor, IronCAD, Creo, Pro/ENGINEER, Solid Edge, SolidWorks, and others.

AutoCAD's full potential

R

ronski_g23

hi everyone! im a new member here and Ive been using ACAD for 10 years. can anyone here tell me if this program can match 3DS Max's modelling capability because Im a solid fan of this program (ACAD) but sad to say I havent reach its pinnacle as to full knowledge of manipulating almost all its features. Im using ADT3.3 and i started way back as release 12. What can you guys tell me.

im also about to try the higher versions soon...

ronski

Modelling: 3ds max vs. ADT

No it doesn't. 3ds max has much more modifiers and has a lot more parametric features.

Despite all of the 3d bells and whistles autodesk slathers on autoCAD, it is, and will probably remain, a 2d drafting program.

AutoCAD 3D

I use AutoCAD in Vanilla mode to draw 3D solid models and I love it. There are two keys to working in 3D. Learning to manipulate the UCS and learning to use the XYZ point filters. MAX is still more powerful in some ways but about 4 years ago when I was using max there was no "center" osnap which always amazed me since you usually rotate about the center of object. This was MAX 3.5 and I am sure it is MUCH better now.
Below are the 3 macro point filters I use constantly.
.YZ;NONE;@;
.XZ;NONE;@;
.XY;NONE;@;