Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default Sending a model via ftp site. How do I easily include all part files?

    Hello - I havn't sent assemblies and part files to others yet as I have only been using SE for several months. I did email an assemble to someone and was informed that I had to send the part files as well.

    That was some time ago and a simple assembly. My assemblies now are quite large now and finding all the correct part files would be a difficult thing to do, if I had to look for each file and make sure I did not include the wrong ones.

    So far I am very impressed with the ease of use. I know there must be a way to collect them all for transfer to an ftp site.

    Please help. Thank you.

    •   AltAdvertisment

        

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi there!
    You need to include all the individual part files in order to open the entire assembly. A way to find the location of the files is to look in the Edgebar (assembly navigator). Right-click on the component and select either where used or properties. It'll be able to tell you where the individual part files are located at.

    Andrew

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default assembly and part files

    Quote Originally Posted by andrewyipko View Post
    Hi there!
    You need to include all the individual part files in order to open the entire assembly. A way to find the location of the files is to look in the Edgebar (assembly navigator). Right-click on the component and select either where used or properties. It'll be able to tell you where the individual part files are located at.

    Andrew
    Thanks andrew. A friend tells me that solid works has an export function that collects all associated files automaticly. I wish that SE did that. I'm not sure he realy knows that for sure.

  4. #4
    William B Guest

    Arrow Bundle your files in one directory - easily done

    Hi 3d's,

    SE has loaded a few extra programs onto your PC that you may not know of.
    The "revision manager" is one of them.

    Open your file within "Revision Manager"...
    1] Go to your assembly file you wish to send - within Windows Explorer (Windows button + E).
    2] Right hand mouse click to select your file.
    3] One of the options that jumps up is "Open with Revision Manager". Select this option.
    4] Your assembly and all its interlinked files will now be listed within "Revision Manager".

    Select the interlinked files to be copied to a new directory...
    5] Ensure that you see all the possible files by pressing the all "+" buttons on each inscription.
    (Do not skip this step!!)
    6] Select all your files.
    7] Right click on the highlighted selections.
    8] Select the "Set Action to Copy" option.
    9] Right click again and select "Set the Path" - changing it to your temporary folder name.
    10] Choose "Perform Actions" under the FILE button.

    Using the directory...
    11] take the temporary directory, zip it and send it on.
    -FIN-

    "Revision Manager" is a very powerful tool to make copies and fix broken links - without even opening SE.
    It is even possible to use without you having your dongol / license activated.

    The is other export possibilities, if you wish to make it a single file.
    I assume you wish to send it as is, to who ever you send it to..

    >> If this helped, please contribute to at least one other post - thanks.
    >> to our other regular visitors -- did I miss something?
    >> Andrew: how can we share our designs with others remotely?

    WB
    Last edited by William B; September 14th, 2006 at 10:58 AM. Reason: typo

    •   AltAdvertisment

        

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Thanks WB

    Ill do that soon as I get home from the salt mine today.

    JK

    •   AltAdvertisment

        

  6. #6

    Default

    Hi William,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful suggestion on using Revision Manager. I'm ashamed i'd forgotten about Revision Manager.

    Well, it depends on your intention. Some designers need to show their designs remotely but not wanting to send the original part files. An alternative solution would be:

    1. Export the assembly to a HTML file using Web Publisher. (You can still manipulate the model in this format)
    2. Save the assembly file to a JT format if the other party has Insight or Teamcenter to view it. (The entire assy will be contained in a single JT file. No need to include the individual part files.)
    3. I've heard that you can paste a SE part file on a word document and yet manipulate it's views. (I'm still researching on this.)

  7. #7

    Thumbs up How to paste Solid Edge part/assembly in WORD document.

    Quote Originally Posted by andrewyipko View Post
    3. I've heard that you can paste a SE part file on a word document and yet manipulate it's views. (I'm still researching on this.)
    I've just found out how i can do the above. I shall share it in the other thread >> Check out UGS's JT2GO!
    Last edited by andrewyipko; September 14th, 2006 at 03:18 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by William B View Post
    Hi 3d's,

    SE has loaded a few extra programs onto your PC that you may not know of.
    The "revision manager" is one of them.

    Open your file within "Revision Manager"...
    1] Go to your assembly file you wish to send - within Windows Explorer (Windows button + E).
    2] Right hand mouse click to select your file.
    3] One of the options that jumps up is "Open with Revision Manager". Select this option.
    4] Your assembly and all its interlinked files will now be listed within "Revision Manager".

    Select the interlinked files to be copied to a new directory...
    5] Ensure that you see all the possible files by pressing the all "+" buttons on each inscription.
    (Do not skip this step!!)
    6] Select all your files.
    7] Right click on the highlighted selections.
    8] Select the "Set Action to Copy" option.
    9] Right click again and select "Set the Path" - changing it to your temporary folder name.
    10] Choose "Perform Actions" under the FILE button.

    Using the directory...
    11] take the temporary directory, zip it and send it on.
    -FIN-

    "Revision Manager" is a very powerful tool to make copies and fix broken links - without even opening SE.
    It is even possible to use without you having your dongol / license activated.

    The is other export possibilities, if you wish to make it a single file.
    I assume you wish to send it as is, to who ever you send it to..

    >> If this helped, please contribute to at least one other post - thanks.
    >> to our other regular visitors -- did I miss something?
    >> Andrew: how can we share our designs with others remotely?

    WB

    I finally got back to that assembly I had to get together and send - guess what? WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!

    2 gold stars , no, make it 3 gold stars for William on this one. You saved me an entire weekend ( in the help )and opened my eyes to the revision manager.

    What other neat little tricks is the revision manager good for?

    I work for the most part alone and all the modeling I do is just for me in my shop. I dont have the need to use many of the functions that would be used in a large company or group, and as you all know, with so much to learn, if I dont have to, I wont spend the time to learn it.

    Thank you very much
    JK

  9. #9
    William B Guest

    Default

    JK,

    You know what - I think I am spoiling you on this one too much.
    Why not you open up a new post starting with "TIP".
    Then you tell the others what functions you see from the Rev. Manager.
    Even if you just jog down the functions you see from the right mouse click menu.
    Andrew, Gert (I hope) or I will try to help from there.

    Just a suggestion / "deep end of the pool push"
    WB

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default

    The free ride is over. I wil see what I can come up with.

    JK

Similar Threads

  1. ST4 Include command not working in assembly mode
    By datdat92 in forum Solid Edge Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 13th, 2012, 09:15 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 9th, 2010, 06:15 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 9th, 2010, 05:18 AM
  4. Does the folder path in search.pro include sub-folders?
    By PHC77 in forum Pro/ENGINEER Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 27th, 2005, 10:51 AM

 

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •