Continue to Site

Welcome to 3DCADForums

Join our CAD community forums where over 25,000 users interact to solve day to day problems and share ideas. We encourage you to visit, invite you to participate and look forward to your input and opinions. Acrobat 3D, AutoCAD, Catia, Inventor, IronCAD, Creo, Pro/ENGINEER, Solid Edge, SolidWorks, and others.

Explosion (offset) lines/ general explosion issues. PLEASE HELP

petecod

Hello all! To start, I am using Pro Engineer Wildfire 3.0. In the passed 2 or so months, I have been experiencing problems of escalating degrees relating to explosions. I have been creating explosion lines the same way for about 2 years now, and just recently have I started having problems. It all started with one of my explosion lines in a set of screws, that were all exploded together. In the model all of the explosion lines looked good. When I switched over to the drawing, all but one of the explosion lines went from the screw to the mating threads. The remaining line stopped short, with no apparent reason. Up to that point, I had never seen an explosion line in a drawing not match the one shown in the model. I tried clicking different cylindrical surfaces on the feature, and the axis, without any success. Since that first time, I have been experiencing the same problem more and more. Now I am lucky if any of my explosion lines work the first time. I have found that to get them to look right in the drawing, I must create them in the model, look at the drawing, look back at the exploded model (at which point the lines will not be where the were when I created them, but they will still not match the drawing), then I must drag a random point on the explosion line a seemingly arbitrary distance, check the drawing, and if I am lucky, it will look right. Otherwise I must drag a random point again.