Continue to Site

Welcome to 3DCADForums

Join our CAD community forums where over 25,000 users interact to solve day to day problems and share ideas. We encourage you to visit, invite you to participate and look forward to your input and opinions. Acrobat 3D, AutoCAD, Catia, Inventor, IronCAD, Creo, Pro/ENGINEER, Solid Edge, SolidWorks, and others.

Which method should I use to create a plastic enclosure? [for manufacturing]

MGPL

Canon%20Scanfront%20220%20eCopy.jpg

I want to create a plastic enclosure that looks similar to this one to be manufactured, how would you do it?
I tried many ways to get it done, but I'm still very new to the program. I've create the top frame (without the cutout for the display), and extruded the shape to start on the sides. Now I'm trying to pull off a swept curve (with a spline, aiming for the opposite of a fillet effect). At this stage it doesn't allow me cut too far into the material otherwise I get an error message ". Here's what i did...

Surface-loft (for the surface around the display, excluding the trim contour)
  • 3DSketch1(profile) A rectangle with sketch fillets on each corner. I replaced the top and bottom lines of the rectangle to splines so I can get a slight curve on the top and bottom.
  • 3DSketch2(curve) A slightly curved spline
Surface-Plane1 (to close off the top hole)
Surface-Plane2 (to close off the bottom hole)
Surface-Knit1 (to close gaps between the Surface-loft and Surface-Plane2)
  • Merge entities(checked), Gap Control (for 3 Gaps within)
Surface-Knit2 (to form a solid body with Surface-Plane1 and the result of Surface-Knit1 just so I can do the Cut-Loft)
  • Try to form solid(checked)
Cut-Loft (to form the trim around the display, the sides are larger than the top and bottom)
  • 2DSketch1(profile) a rectangle with small sketch fillets on each corner. Located exactly where the cut out will be.
  • 2DSketch2(profile) a rectangle with sketch fillets on each corner.